Writing with The Daily Grind: How Do You Balance Work and Writing?

“Everything is Practise”

– Pele

 

I have enjoyed launching myself into my new hobby so far. I’ve come up with some interesting ideas, slapped some big and interesting words down and managed to fill a few pages in each of my notebooks. The problem is I have to work. Every day.

 

Sometimes its not possible to find time in the day for a pipe dream. Many successful people advise against getting trapped in life and being shackled to a meaningless job that leaves you incapable of doing what you love. This advice, as the majority of aspiring writers will understand is worthless. Salary buys Microsoft Office and an internet connection. More importantly it buys breakfast.

 

Its hard to guarantee that once you’ve dragged your feet through the front door after emptying the tank at work that you will relish sitting down to write. Other commitments come into the fold; cooking, cleaning, childcare…even other pipe dreams can take over. I myself am enjoying a successful rugby season with my team, rendering me incapable of writing Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays because I have to train or play.

 

So how to find time to write where there is none?

 

The answer – Constant practise, even when you aren’t practising.

 

Notepads

Vigilance

Audiobooks

 

Notepads. Every advice piece written about the craft explores the importance of notebooks. Most instruct the new writer to carry one with them at all times. This advice is invaluable. Not only does it allow you to pen your fresh ideas when you’re out and about, it means you keep a finger on your writing while you are being dragged away by your other commitments. Its an anchor to your creativity. Often you won’t even refer back to it when you finally get to sitting down to write. You don’t need to. The point is that the flash of a pen is practise…and practise makes perfect.

 

Vigilance. Your notebook allows you to become an observer of life, carefully logging your surroundings and experiences as the world rumbles around you. The notebook will fill faster if you are constantly looking for things to fill it. Listen, see and smell. Acts of kindness will create heroes. People that irk you create villains. If you like the smell of the park, write down why. Be attentive to the stories that rumble around you. Jot them down.

 

Audiobooks. I did not realise how useful these would be. Reading is one of the other essentials that all the experts tell you to do. Its yet another thing that is near impossible to make time for. Audiobooks are a true blessing. You can read while you drive and you can immerse yourself in stories that aren’t your own while you’re doing your chores. Its probably best to listen intently, but its better than nothing if you truly can’t.

 

I’ve found its not necessarily about finding time to write, it is about finding ways to practise. All writers are creative in their work, so we can be creative in our training too. How do you find time to write?

3 thoughts on “Writing with The Daily Grind: How Do You Balance Work and Writing?

  1. Interesting ideas – I like the idea of your notebook shaping your habit as an observer.
    I know of a couple of writers who do the early bird: 500 words before work every morning. I tend to find I’m slightly more creative at night though, so doesn’t work for me.
    As sad as it sounds, I’d also add scheduling to the list. When I know I’ll be working on weeknights and weekends, I block limited periods off in order to sustain things.

    Like

    • Scheduling is decent in that it promotes rigidity. This raises another question – how does routine improve your work? I myself run by a very loose schedule which (as described above) doesn’t necessarily work! I suspect stricter rules will be a strong asset to any training regime.

      Like

  2. It is easier said than done. If all schedules were stuck to I would have written 10 novels by now, but instead I’ve written none. If nobody is holding you to account on whether you stick to the schedule or not then it’s very easy to fall out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment